Digital Marketing Competition

Fall 2023 Digital Marketing Competition winning teams

Fall 2023 Digital Marketing Competition Winners Announced

December 5, 2023 – Student teams across the world were once again challenged by a difficult task in this fall’s Digital Marketing Competition. Unlike past contests, this time students were tasked to create a campaign for a concept idea called Sole Search who didn’t have a website, social profiles, or any digital footprint at all. As an added element, students had to also incorporate A.I. into their campaign, whether it was through research, creativity, or campaign measurement.

The winning undergraduate (Team Carosella – St. Clair College) team consisted of Emma Carosella, Dalton Drouillard, Sara Rupert, Zach Dillen, and Dr. Scott Briscoe, while the winning graduate (Team Robles – University of San Diego) team included Maria Patricia Robles, Kate Rose, Tricia Guerrero, and Dr. Justine Farrell.

“The quality of the strategic approaches, application and use of A.I., and the business considerations and analysis that were provided were amazing. If this is what we can expect from the next generation of digital marketers, the future of the industry is bright.”

Kara Trivunovic, Judge and Group Vice President, Zeta Global


FIRST PLACE: Team Carosella – St. Clair College (Ontario, Canada)

SECOND PLACE: Team Howell – Villanova University (Pennsylvania, U.S.)

THIRD PLACE: Team Shaheen – Wheaton College (Massachusetts, U.S.)

FOURTH PLACE: Team Taylor – University of Oklahoma (Oklahoma, U.S.)


FIRST PLACE: Team Robles – University of San Diego (California, US)

SECOND PLACE: Team Thomas – IAE Angers (Pays de la Loire, France)

In addition, sponsors from the Barbauld Agency, Digital Helium, and Purdue University Northwest provided specialty awards:

H. DAUBEK AWARD (Sponsor – Barbauld Agency) given to the individual student who stood out against all others.

Winner: Annah Shaheen – Wheaton College (Massachusetts, U.S.)

WHAT’S TRENDING AWARD (Sponsored – Digital Helium) given to the team that provides the most unique idea in the competition.

Winner: Team Howell – Villanova University (Pennsylvania, U.S.)

MOST ENGAGEMENT AWARD (Sponsor – Purdue University Northwest) given to the university that had the most teams participating in the competition:

Texas Tech University (Texas, U.S.)

For further details on the Digital Marketing Competition, visit:

For questions about the competition, please contact:

Matt Hanson
2200 169th St, Anderson 382
Hammond, IN 46323
Phone: 219-613-8104
Email: WinBig[at]